Established in 1977, Acupuncture NZ is the largest professional body representing practitioners of Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine in New Zealand. A member of the World Federation of Acupuncture Societies (WFAS) and the World Federation of Chinese Medicine Societies (WFCMS), we also have strong affiliations with acupuncture associations particularly in Australia but also in China, the United States, Britain and throughout Europe.

Members have completed the equivalent of four years full-time training either in New Zealand or overseas, and have been accepted by ACC as Treatment Providers since 1990. Practitioners who have gained their qualification overseas have either sat and passed an entry examination or have had their qualification assessed by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA). All members are bound by the Rules, Clinical Procedures and Safe Clinical Practice and Code of Professional Ethics of our organisation and are required to complete 20 hours  Continuing Professional Development (CPD) education in order to maintain their Annual Practising Certificate.

Whilst all members practice acupuncture, many are also experienced in Chinese Herbal Medicine and may combine both modalities in their daily practice.

Acupuncture NZ does not recognise graduates of primary qualifying TCM programs undertaken by correspondence or distance education mode, nor does Acupuncture NZ recognise graduates of short courses.

Members practise throughout the country in all the main centres and many rural areas. To find a practitioner in your local area, go to “Find a Practitioner” at the top of this page.

The Acupuncture NZ office is in the Wellington suburb of Kilbirnie. The building was purchased on behalf of the members by the Council in 2007 as the organisation had long since outgrown its previous premises. Ownership of this building puts us in an enviably strong financial position as we head towards registration under the HPCAA and the inevitable associated costs.